A Brief Note on the American Folk Art Museum’s Decision to Sell

AFAM's 53rd Street building

Last week’s sad news that the American Folk Art Museum (AFAM) agreed to sell their 53rd Street building to the Museum of Modern Art is unfortunate, though not entirely unexpected. I will not speculate and comment on their decision or situation, but am providing links to interesting articles that discuss the sale:

I have a soft spot for the museum: my first post-college job was as their assistant editor, and my experiences at AFAM led me to focus on self-taught artists within my graduate studies. I am not the only person who has been inspired by the museum, and I hope that their collection will remain available and visible both at their Lincoln Square space and online.

Leave a Reply

